Is Whey Protein HALAL Or HARAM?

Safiya Rahman

-
August 18, 2023
Halal and haram whey protein powders

Here's something you might not know: not all whey protein powder is halal. That might be shocking to hear, but it's true, and in this article, we'll show you why and how you can better inform yourself as to what you consume.

Whey protein is a popular supplement that is often used by bodybuilders and athletes to help build muscle and improve performance in physical exercise.

How can whey protein not be halal? 🥛

You'd have thought that whey powder would be halal, no questions asked. But the real answer to this question depends on the source of the rennet that is used to curdle the milk. Don't forget that whey is derived from the cheesemaking process and you get powdered whey when enzymes separate the curd.

Rennet is an enzyme that is used during this cheesemaking process, and it can be derived from either plant or animal sources. Rennet derived from animals is usually made from the stomachs of calves or lambs, while rennet that comes from plants is typically made from the fungus Mucor miehei or Rhizomucor miehei in full.

Muslim scientist in a supplement factory conducting Halal certification

If the rennet used to make whey protein is derived from an animal that has been slaughtered according to Islamic shariah law and is therefore halal, or if it is derived from a plant source, then the whey protein is also halal.

However, if the rennet is derived from an animal that has not been slaughtered according to Islamic law then the whey protein is haram.

So the key here in determining whether your whey protein is halal or not, is by understanding the source of the rennet enzyme.

Can whey protein be halal certified? ✅

Over the last few years there's been a growing demand for halal whey protein. This is due to the increasing number of Muslims who are interested in bodybuilding and Islamic fitness influencers. As a result, a number of companies have begun to produce halal whey protein that is 100% certified.

There are a number of organisations that certify halal products such as The World Halal Trust Group, who specialise in Vitamins, Minerals and Supplements (VMS) as well as HMC in the UK who focus on more meat products.

Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
4.9/5 132 reviews

Dream Sticks

Fall asleep faster and sleep deeper
Contains science-approved Magnesium, L-Theanine and L-Glycine

Fall asleep faster and wake up feeling refreshed. Each box contains 20 stick sachets. Just mix one sachet with water and drink before bedtime for best results.

How do subscriptions work?
  • Never have to think about reordering

    Stay stocked with your favorite products
  • Edit your subscription anytime

    Edit products, delivery schedule and more
  • Cancel when you want to

    Easily cancel, no questions asked
Save 30%
$37.00
$25.84
Delivered monthly to your door
Skip, pause or cancel any time
100% money-back guarantee
$37.00
1