An Easy Guide To Knowing If A Supplement Is Halal Or Haram

Safiya Rahman

-
July 12, 2023
Muslim woman browsing halal and haram dietary supplements

The world of supplements can feel like the Wild West at times, with poor labelling, unknown certifications and a lack of transparency over ingredients. And as Muslims, it's part of our job to be prudent in deciding whether something we consume is lawful or not, but not to be overburdened by this.

Allah says in the Quran: “O believers! Eat from the good things We have provided for you.” (Surah Al-Baqarah, 2:172)

As long as there is no evidence or any criterion that makes a supplement haram, then it is allowed. Here's how you can make sure you have all the evidence on hand when making that decision.

1. Check the ingredients list 🔎

One of the first (and easiest) things you should do when considering a supplement is to check its ingredients list. By law, ingredients lists need to be written clearly on any product sold in the UK, Europe or US. You'll want to watch out for ingredients that are derived from non-halal sources, such as pork or alcohol. Common non-halal ingredients include gelatin, glycerin, and stearic acid.

2. Look for halal certification ✅

Does your supplement have a 'halal' badge? Does this badge come from a reputable organisation? Halal certification verifies that the supplement meets rigorous halal standards and is free from any haram ingredients or practices.

A few organisations that are well known include Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA), World Halal Trust, Halal Monitoring Committee (HMC) or the Halal Food Council of Europe (HFCE)

3. Ask the manufacturer ⚙️

If you're still hesitant about the halal status of a supplement you'd like to buy, then don't be afraid to direct questions or concerns directly to them!

Most reputable manufacturers will be transparent about their ingredients and manufacturing processes and will be happy to answer any questions you may have. If a manufacturer is unable or unwilling to provide this information, it may be a red flag that the supplement is not halal or cannot pass the rigorous tests that certification agencies lay out.

“Allah does not burden any soul with more than it can bear.” (Surah Al-Baqarah, 2:286) 

Islam is meant to be practical and able to be carried out at any time and place. It's our duty to perform basic tests to know whether the food and drink we consume is halal, and the above bullet points should help to give you peace of mind that you are doing things in accordance with the faith.

And Allah knows best.

Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
Dream Sticks
4.8
Rated 4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 Stars (153 Reviews)

Dream Sticks

The HALAL sleep supplement backed by science and faith
Natural ingredients mentioned in the Qur’an and Hadith

Fall asleep faster and wake up feeling refreshed. Each box contains 20 stick sachets. Just mix one sachet with water and drink before bedtime for best results.

How do subscriptions work?
  • Never have to think about reordering

    Stay stocked with your favorite products
  • Edit your subscription anytime

    Edit products, delivery schedule and more
  • Cancel when you want to

    Easily cancel, no questions asked
Most Popular
Monthly
£27.99 £19.99
Quarterly
£83.97 £49.99
£27.99
1